‘Tree House’ etching/woodcut

28 Aug

I have recently finished a new print that will be called ‘Tree House’.  The ideas behind the piece stem from previous work but I am particularly pleased with the outcome as I feel that it is the beginning of a new way of working.  I want to continue creating more layered effects and combining different printing methods.

The style of the tree (etching) derives from a continued reference to fairy tales and folklore while the house (woodcut) is based on a house I lived in not long ago and is printed in the the colours of a Wendy House, which is another element used before in my work.  I basically wanted to create an image that questioned the idea of personal space.  It is an adult house, positioned in a tree, set away from other people..

Leave a Reply

