Demonstrations!!

19 Mar

I agreed a while back to demonstrate hard ground etching to a printmaking group at Wensum Lodge.  This day has come around really quickly and is in fact tomorrow. While this is exciting and obviously a great experience to help me get into teaching, I am a little nervous about the responsibility considering the use of acid and sharp things.

I am on the other hand experienced and looking forward to seeing what the learners produce.  I spent today preparing the plates by filing the edges and painting liquid hard ground onto each of the 9 plates so that more time is spared for working the image and etching time.  I also mixed the ferric chloride for the first time which is a good thing for a technician to know how to do..

I am also in the process of applying for the Spring Show at the Wymondham Arts Centre and will be submitting two pieces of work. Hopefully i’ll have an opportunity to re-show a couple of my mezzotints and get a bit more exposure!!

I’ll update on how the demo went etc soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

