Etching Workshop 20/3/13

21 Mar

As promised this is my update for the etching workshop that took place at Wensum Lodge yesterday.. I’m really pleased with the way it went considering it was the first time I had taught a full group of learners! I started the session with a demonstration working into the copper plate – preparing the image, showing different ways of transferring the design and using different tools etc.. I also showed some of my own plates, proofs and prints to show examples of the different stages of making an etching.

Due to the use of ferric chloride I spent a lot of the time reminding people to wear their goggles and gloves, which Gini and I fashioned to make a good example! (it’s always a good look;)) The learners were a lovely group and took everything on board really quickly, making good use of the time! We could only have two people using the acid at a time which was ok because they all worked at different paces, but there was a stage where a few were waiting around.. this is however part of the process as it takes at least 30 mins for the etching to occur!

Over all it was a really productive day, everyone managed to create a hard ground line etching and some even got a few prints within the four hours! I really enjoyed sharing my knowledge about printmaking and even managed to answer all questions they had! It was a valuable experience and hope to be able to do it more often in my career as a printmaker/teacher!

As a thank you at the end of the workshop I was given a voucher for art supplies, which was very unexpected and i’m so grateful as I can now buy myself some new ink!

Below are some images of the day, I can’t show any of the learner’s faces on here but you can see some of the work produced and appreciate the goggle look! Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

