Norwich Open Studios 24th May – 8th June: Martin Mitchell

12 May

I met Martin in 2010 by contacting the Norwich Print Fair about my hope to continue with printmaking after leaving university. Martin contacted me and offered to show me how to produce a ‘Mezzotint’ which is a very old printing technique and involves a lot of patience and dedication! Martin’s work often depicts the beautiful landscapes of Norfolk and Cumbria and he has developed his own techniques in order to create great detail and atmosphere in his work. I have now tried my hand at a few mezzotints myself and although it takes me much longer than Martin, I love the quality of the final print and hope to produce more soon! I am very lucky to still have access to Martin’s workshop and this is where I often spend my days off!

As part of their ‘Intaglio’ project I arranged for a couple of learners from the Level 3 Printmaking course (Wensum Lodge) to see Martin at work in his studio at Muspole Street, Norwich. He kindly demonstrated ‘rocking the plate’ and also proofed a plate that he was still working on. Below are some images from his demonstration but also if you want to go and see for yourself, you can visit him at the Norwich Open Studios from Saturday the 24th May – Sunday the 8th June!!

Leave a Reply

