New Etchings

8 Mar

As part of my ‘tools of the trade’ project I have been working on an etching of a ‘rocker’ and so I thought i’d just post an image of the plate so far…  I’m intending to rock lines across the top of the plate to demonstrate how this tool is used but have also prepared a collagraph plate for the handle so that it will be embossed!

WP_20150308_001

I’ll be printing this on Wednesday as well as proofing this plate (below) This etching is to go with one of my early etchings, ‘Granddad’ and is based on an image of my Grandma and her sister in Cork in the 1930s. So far I have done a hard ground line, and used soft ground to apply a texture to the coats and background of the plate but I think I may need to work into it more to get a wider range of tones.. I have also produced a small collagraph to emboss one of the figures!

WP_20150308_003

Leave a Reply

