Mezzotint proof!

1 Jul

I have finally taken a first proof of my latest mezzotint! I Have spent a few months gradually working the plate as I didn’t want to rush it, especially as it’s the largest mezzotint I have done (approx. 30X30cm)

The plate was originally rocked with a 100 gauge rocker about 20 times. Although it is advised to rock more than this, the plate is a bit thinner than you would normally use so I didn’t want it to bow in the middle, and also it’s long winded.. so 20 suits me just fine! I also allowed the rocker marks to show around the edges as I am really keen to promote the hand-made / hand-pulled print and this is obviously a key feature for mezzotinting!

When proofing a mezzotint I usually expect to be fairly disappointed with the result as it is so hard to tell if you have burnished enough. Also every time you print the plate the burrs break down slightly because it has quite a delicate surface.  This is why it is best not to proof too many times because you will only get up to 20/30 prints maximum, depending on how many times it was rocked! As this was rocked only 20 times I expect it to be an edition of 20 with a couple of ‘Artist Proofs!’.

I am really pleased with this as a first proof (Sorry image to follow – technical difficulties!) so I will only need to define a few areas before editioning it and getting it ready for this year’s Norwich Print Fair! I have slightly over wiped the centre of the plate as well so hopefully the next proof will be much clearer!

 

Leave a Reply

